We would like to cover what you need to know about how to expunge a DUI in Oklahoma. There are two moving violations covered here. Driving under the influence, and driving while intoxicated, which is a lesser version of the two. Both crimes are considered misdemeanors in the State of Oklahoma. However, they both can have serious consequences with big impacts on your life.
It might not seem like a big deal on paper being that it is just a misdemeanor. But to employers, schools, and others it may seem like a lack of proper judgement, or complete disregard for rules. The good news for you is that we can get it off of your record.
An expungement means that your criminal record is sealed. So the only people that would be able to ever access those records would be law enforcement. Once you have gone through this process, you no longer have to check the box saying you have been convicted of a crime. This will help you to gain employment, housing, or enroll in schools.
There is a time period that must go by before you can qualify for an expungement. Exactly one year after the completion of a deferred sentence. Also, you must have paid all court costs, fines, and fees associated with your case. The size of the fine also determines the waiting period before expungement can happen. Less that $501 is a one year wait, more than $501 is a five year wait.
Yes. You can expunge a felony DUI case in Oklahoma, but the rules are a little tighter. You can only expunge one. If you have 2 felonies, you will need a pardon on the first one, and then it has to be 20 years old. If you have 3 or more, you are not eligible for an expungement, even with a pardon.
Contact the professionals at Bury Your Past. We have helped countless individuals erase their criminal records, and we want to help you too.